Economic Support

Economic Support


The Columbia County Economic Support (ES) Division, a member of the Capital Consortium, provides assistance to those experiencing hardship.  The Capital Consortium consists of Adams, Columbia, Dane, Dodge, Juneau, Richland, Sauk and Sheboygan counties.  The ES Division determines eligibility for FoodShare, ChildCare, Medicaid, BadgerCare Plus Medical Assistance programs and SSI Caretaker Supplement (CTS).  Columbia County ES Division also manages the Child Care Certification program.

Capital Consortium Toll Free Call Center Phone Number: (888) 794-5556.

Hours of Operation:

 Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.  Thursday: 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Second Thursday of each month: 9:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

  For more information regarding Wisconsin Income Maintenance How to Apply-Income Maintenance Agency

There Are 4 Ways to Apply:

  • Online:
  • Phone (888) 794-5556 Capital Consortium Toll-Free Number
  • Mail: Call (608) 742-9227 to request that an application be mailed
  • Local Agency: 111 East Mullett Street, Portage, WI 53901


Monday through Friday

8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Appointments can be scheduled outside of normal office hours upon request.

Interpreters for other languages can be made available upon request.

Graphic Button For HealthCare Marketplace
Graphic Button for Health Care
Image for Link to Your Responsibilities
Graphic Button for Your Rights
Graphic Button for FoodShare
Graphic Button for Child Care Assistance
Graphic Button for Caretaker Supplement
Graphic Button For How To Apply
Graphic Button For La informacion en el espanol
Graphic Button for Employment
Graphic Button for Fraud
Graphic Button For Energy Assistance
Graphic Button for Forms and Brochures
Graphic Button for Economic Support Resources