Domestic Partnership
Reminder:  Declarations of domestic partnership are recorded only in the county that issued the declaration.  In order to obtain a certified copy, it is necessary to contact the Register of Deeds office in the county where the declaration is filed.

There are two ways to request a copy of a declaration of domestic partnership: by mail or in person.

Mail requests to: Register of Deeds
PO Box 133
Portage WI 53901

Use the application form (a PDF file) to request a copy of a declaration of domestic partnership. Please enclose a self-addressed, stamped, business-sized envelope, the necessary fees (see below) and a photocopy of the applicant's current ID (see below). Upon receipt in our office, mailed requests are generally completed in 1-5 working days. Mail your request to: Register of Deeds, PO Box 133, Portage WI 53901.

In-person requests may be made at the Register of Deeds Office. It is located at the Columbia County Courthouse, 400 DeWitt St. in Portage. The office is open from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday. A current ID is required when applying in-person. You may wish to complete the application form (a PDF file) before you visit our office.

Fees: The fee for the first copy of any declaration of domestic partnership is $20.00. Additional copies of the same record, ordered at the same time, are $3.00 each. Therefore, two copies of the same record would be $23.00. NO PERSONAL CHECKS. Please make money order payable to Register of Deeds.

All forms of identification must show your current name and address.  Expired cards or documents will not be accepted.  The acceptable forms of identification are:

One of these:
Wisconsin driver's license.
Wisconsin photo I.D. card.
Out-of-state driver's license or photo I.D. card.

 
OR
 
Two of these: At least one of these must show your name and address
U.S. Government-issued employee I.D. card or badge with photograph.
Passport.
Check book or bank statement.
Health insurance card.
Current, dated lease signed by you.
Bill addressed to you.
Traffic ticket.
Paycheck or earnings statement.
 
State Law restricts who may obtain a certified copy of a declaration of domestic partnership.  Please review the criteria for obtaining a declaration of domestic partnership if you have questions.

For further information regarding applying for a declaration of domestic partnership, see the links below.